Exceptions for Illinois Consumers in Disaster Areas

Governor Bruce Rauner has declared Cook, Kane, Lake and McHenry counties disaster areas due to the recent severe flooding in the State of Illinois. Many of our policyholders have been impacted by this event. As a result, we are implementing the following procedures to lessen the hardship experienced by our affected policyholders in these areas.

No cancellations or non-renewals will be issued between July 12, 2017 and September 30, 2017 on affected policies. Policies that have received a prior notice will be reinstated with no lapse in coverage. During this period of time, no cancellations or non-renewals will be processed due to an increase in the risk. Policyholders that have received notices from the Company regarding repairs or other recommendations will have this time extended.

Consumers should be aware that if there are any disaster-related disputes, they may contact the Department of Insurance at their toll-free number 1-866-445-5364 or file a complaint online at:  https://mc.insurance.illinois.gov/messagecenter.nsf